Welcome to the Department of Psychiatry 

The Department of Psychiatry is a clinical academic department in the College of Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan. The clinical members are also part of the Saskatoon Health Region. This joint partnership provides a full range of education, research and clinical services to Saskatoon and surrounding area as well as fulfilling a provincial academic mandate.

We are located in Saskatoon, which is Saskatchewan’s largest and growing city.  The Department of Psychiatry in Ellis Hall and the Dubé Inpatient Centre for Mental Health are prominent along the beautiful shoreline of the South Saskatchewan River which flows through the city. The Regina site is located in the College of Medicine in Regina Qu'Appelle Health Region.

Department Head Message

Marilyn BaetzWe are located in Saskatoon in the Royal University Hospital on the University of Saskatchewan Campus. The Regina site is located in the Regina General Hospital.

The Department of Psychiatry offers medical undergraduate and postgraduate residency as well as postgraduate training in Master’s, PhD and postdoctoral fellowship opportunities in neuroscience and applied psychiatry through the Health Sciences Program. We also offer an ongoing series of continuing professional accreditation.

Read more

News & Events

View all news and events