Welcome to the Department of Surgery

Established in 1954, the Unified Department of Surgery has over 130 surgeons based in Saskatoon, Regina and Prince Albert supported by a dedicated administrative staff and over 50 residents and fellows in our postgraduate training programs.  Our commitment is to provide world-class care to the citizens of Saskatchewan and beyond by the creation of an educational environment of innovation and collaborative research; we strive to be one of the leading surgical departments worldwide... read more

Meet Dr. I. Mendez, Chairman of Surgery

Chairman's Message

Dr. Ivar Mendez

It is my great honour and privilege to assume the responsibility as Fred H. Wigmore Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery at the University of Saskatchewan ... read more

Surgical Humanities ...

SH Cover

Read the new issue of the Journal of the Surgical Humanities now ... Click here for information on submissions

News & Events

Dr. Zane Tymchuk, Neurosurgery

The inaugural 2015 Surgery and Anesthesiology Resident Research Day was held on April 10th in the new E-wing of the Health Sciences Building at the University of Saskatchewan. Third year Neurosurgery resident, Zane Tymchuk presented a poster presentation to our guest judge, Dr. Vivian McAlsiter  ... read more